What Dreams?

What Dreams?

 

I remember very vividly the very first time I had an aspiration, a goal, a dream.

Fourth grade, all I seem to remember is the time I had humiliated myself in front of my entire class of nearly 30 students including teachers. I grew as red as the wrapping for Lindt chocolate as I hung my head down in shame so that my eyes couldn’t meet my peers. It was my very first play.

It was every student’s dream to become rich and famous one day in elementary school. Coming from a family that was, to say the least, still adjusting to the move from the UK to Canada, it made a whole lot of sense to me. After all, I thought to myself “Gee, if I’m rich and famous, I can easily give back to my family for all their hard work and make my life so much easier. With that kind of life, I’m completely invincible!” At least, I thought it was that easy.

With that goal in my mind, the opportunity just so happened to present itself. My teacher had the brilliant idea to film a class play that could be used to educate us for class but also serve as a reminder of our elementary brilliance. So, she decided we would make our own play out of a cartoon we watch all the time to ensure our German is up to par. It was called Tom und das Erdbeermarmeladebrot Mit Honig (Tom and the Slice of Bread with Strawberry Jam and Honey) Quite the mouth full for non-German audiences, wouldn’t you say?

(Here is an episode! 🙂 )

The class gathered together in the old classroom to get our roles for the play, and I was easily the most eager student in the room at that moment. To be honest, everyone else seemed quite miserable towards the thought of doing a play, but I was still happy.

The only issue was that I never got a role, so I decided to let my teacher know.

“Frau Lehrer, what’s my role” I muttered with a child-like innocence.

She was quite surprised that I never got a role, so she managed to scramble through the script and see what job needed doing. Of course, she forgot the most important role to hand out. Yes, it would the fabled Sign Bearer.

With this imperative role now resting in my hands, it was time I learned the blocking and lines that came with the whole sign holding deal. On the day of the filming, I was handed a poorly made sign with a single red heart on it. The sign was my life, it was my identity, and the very foundation for my future. With this sign, people would see my talent in the performing arts, and soon enough I would be working with some of the industries biggest talents. Indeed, I was a small boy with big dreams at that moment.

It came time to finally prove myself as a worthy member of the class, as before this moment I had been an introvert with only one friend to keep myself from complete loneliness. Getting up on that stage was invigorating, which would have been the case if it weren’t for the actual blocking.

“Just hold the sign up when they hug and you can go.” She demanded.

Immediately all my previous joy and happiness fled my body. How would people recognize my talent if they couldn’t hear me speak? I was being blocked by two actors, too! I was disappointed, but remained slightly optimistic, which would have been the case if it weren’t for what happened next.

The two characters gave each other a pleasant hug, and I raised the sign over their heads with pride.

“No, try that again.” Frau Lehrer ordered.

Again I tried my best to hold up the sign and get the timing right. Somehow I made a mess of it again and my teacher began to get furious with me.

“Do it again, Tim!” She scorned.

I tried one last time, praying that I had done it right enough for her to not kick me out of the play.

She kicked me out of the play.

With my failure to raise a sign-up, she found someone else that could take my place; however, they did it perfectly the first try. So, I took the walk of shame down the steps and into the rows of seats scattered across the gym. My face was fuming with embarrassment, and there was absolutely no way I could look up to face any of my peers after how much I had humiliated myself.

I thought there might be a second chance for me to perhaps play a role that was less difficult, so I approached my teacher and asked.

As a response, she erupted with anger and shooed me away from her sight and told me to take a seat and not interrupt the filming. I obeyed and found the farthest seat from anyone I could find, and at that moment all I could do was reflect on what I had done. I thought that no celebrity in the world could mess up something so simple like I did. There I gave up any dreams I had of being the biggest success since Leonardo DiCaprio in the Titanic.


References

Permeate (n.d.). [image] Available at: https://rachelbtw.tumblr.com/post/164335748899 [Accessed 13 Mar. 2018].

Temporary Tattoos (n.d.). Dream Kanji Temporary Tattoo. [image] Available at: https://temporarytattoos.com/dream-kanji [Accessed 13 Mar. 2018].

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 Comments

  • sempiternallagoon

    April 13, 2018 at 5:04 am Reply

    Dear Tim,
    This was so adorable and sad to read. I love the childlike innocence throughout it and how you described your emotions in a way that I feel all children have felt in moments like that. All of the imagery and description during the piece was wonderful to me, allowing me to see the perfect image of little Tim with a sign and a dream. The paragraphs were perfect- not too long and not too short and allowed you to get your point across in a way that was just the right length to truly hook the reader. And hooked I was from the first sentence. That first sentence really intrigued me to see what the rest of the story was.
    To work on, I noticed that you would switch a few times from past tense to present and then back again. Also, just general GUMPS that I spotted once or twice while reading.
    You are an excellent writer and I cannot wait to read more of your work!!
    Sincerely,
    Paxton

  • faithyb

    April 15, 2018 at 3:25 am Reply

    Dear Tim,

    I absolutely loved the little bits of humor found throughout this piece! I especially enjoyed your utilization of hyperbole to further exemplify a child’s perspective,
    “The sign was my life, it was my identity, and the very foundation for my future. With this sign, agents from across the globe would see my sign-wielding talent and immediately cast me in major blockbuster productions. Indeed, I was a small boy with big dreams at that moment.”
    I also felt sorry for you by the way you evoked pathos by delivering your story through dialogue from your teacher and imagery to describe your embarrassment.

    As a grow, I would suggest for you to comb through this piece and correct punctuation as well as structure in order for it to flow even better. Overall, thanks for the great read!

    With Love,
    Faith

  • AbhayP

    May 14, 2018 at 1:48 am Reply

    Dear Tim,

    Although this piece was meant to encapture the loss of your aspirations and dreams, I could not help but laugh. It did not seem to me that you were writing but rather a Tim from the past had been talking to me. The key details you provided in your story made me able to visualize how this had occurred in the first place. What’s so beautiful about this piece is that the growth from the past can be seen as you are currently so passionate on stage. Your acting today is a defiance to your teacher who could not see this spark of fire inside of you awaiting to be rekindled.

    To improve, I would say be wary of whether you are in the present or past tense as you shifted a few times here and there. Another point that I would mention is to recheck your work for any GUMPS. These may occasionally slip into our writing-they always do!

    All in all, wonderful piece and your natural sense of humour is outstanding. Although I will have never been there with you when this unfortunate event had occurred, your story will forever, hopefully, reside with me. I can see myself at the age of 70 reading this piece and laughing like a nutcase.

    Sincerely,
    Abhay

Post a Comment